National Tobacco Control Scoreboard

Each year at the Australian Medical Association’s (AMA) National Conference, which coincides with World No Tobacco Day 31 May, the results from the scoreboard are used to applaud the government(s) who have achieved outstanding results for tobacco control over the past year. It’s also the time to present the ‘Dirty Ashtray Award’ to the government(s) which have performed the most poorly.

Smoke Free Environment Sign displayed in beautiful natural surroundings.

 2016 National Tobacco Control Scoreboard

Over the years, the National Tobacco Control Scoreboard has consistently had a significant impact, generating action by low-scoring Health Ministers and encouraging those who lead the country in tobacco control efforts.

The 2016 Scoreboard results were announced at the AMA National Conference in May 2016.   The 2016 Dirty Ashtray Award was awarded to the Northern Territory Government.  The Victorian Government was the runner-up for the Dirty Ashtray and was designated the ‘Laggard State’.  While there wasn’t an ‘A’ ranking, the Australian Government won the ‘Achievement Award’ in recognition of strong and continuing commitment to tobacco control with support for plain packaging legislation and world-leading fiscal policies.

For more information read the following media release from the AMA which was issued to coincide with the announcement: