Bob Elphick Award

 The Bob Elphick Medal

Dr Bob Elphick (1917-2005) dedicated his life to working in public medicine in WA. As the first Head of the Perth Chest Hospital, which is now known as Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, Dr Elphick observed first-hand the devastating health effects of smoking.

A pioneer in tobacco control, Dr Elphick was elected the founding President of the WA branch of Australian Council on Smoking and Health (ACOSH) in November 1971; he continued to take a passionate and active role in the work of ACOSH for many years and was an inspiring mentor to several generations of chest physicians and tobacco control activists.

ACOSH acknowledges Dr Elphick’s pioneering work in tobacco control with the establishment of the Bob Elphick Medal to honour and commemorate his exceptional achievements and contribution to ACOSH. The Bob Elphick Medal is awarded annually, by the decision of the Council, to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to tobacco control in WA during the previous year.

Previous Bob Elphick Medal winners include:

  •  2006 – Hon. Jim McGinty
  • 2007 – Gaye Reeves
  • 2008 – Dr Bill Musk
  • 2009 – Dr Janet Woollard MP
  • 2010 – Paul Boyatzis
  • 2011 – Dr Mal Washer MP
  • 2012 – Prof Mike Daube
  • 2013- Dr Juli Coffin
  • 2014- Professor Kingsley Faulkner AM
  • 2015- Emeritus Prof D’Arcy Holman AM
    _igp9477  _igp9467
    The 2015 Dr Bob Elphick Medal was awarded to Emertitus Professor D’Arcy Holman AM, who recently retired after many years as Foundation Professor of Public Health at The University of Western Australia
  • 2016 – Dr Bronwyn King
    2016-bob-elphick-medal1 _igp9904
    Dr Bronwyn King, leading radiation oncologist and CEO of Tobacco Free Portfolios, was the 2016 winner of the Bob Elphick Medal.  Read about Dr King in Reader’s Digest 
  • 2017 – Hon Ms Nicola Roxon

    Hon Ms Nicola Roxon, former Federal Health Minister who implemented Australia’s tobacco plain packaging legislation, was the 2017 winner of the Bob Elphick Medal.

    Click here to read the acceptance speech by the Hon Nicola Roxon.

  • 2018 – The WA Aboriginal Tobacco Control Strategic Leadership Team

The WA Aboriginal Tobacco Control Strategic Leadership Team, for its outstanding contribution in helping to reduce smoking in Aboriginal communities.

Click here to read more about the WA Aboriginal Tobacco Control Strategic Leadership Team.

  • 2019 – The Honourable Barry Hodge

The Honourable Barry Hodge, Former WA Health Minister, was the 2019 winner of the Dr Bob Elphick Medal. Click here to read more.