Involve your school in Critics’ Choice

Which is your favourite anti-smoking and vaping Ad?

The Critics’ Choice is an initiative coordinated annually by Quit Victoria, as part of a strategy to reduce the prevalence of tobacco smoking and e-cigarette use among young people.

Upper primary and secondary students are encouraged to watch a selection of anti-smoking and vaping advertisements from around the world and vote on their favourite, including the one most likely to prevent them from taking up smoking and vaping or encouraging them to quit.







‘Don’t let it in’, by South Australian Health

Information for teachers

The Critics’ Choice 2020 voting will open on the 5th of October, 2020. All you need to do is give students the opportunity to vote on the ad they think is most effective in deterring young people’s use of e-cigarettes and tobacco smoking:

Teachers can:

ACOSH recommends teachers view the advertisements prior to the use with students to determine their suitability.

The Prize

Vote before the deadline and go into the draw to win a $500 voucher for your school.  Final entries close at 11:59 PM AEST on the 7th of December 2020.








‘Vaping Addiction isn’t pretty’, by The Real Cost

2019 Winner

ACOSH would like to thank the 350 students from over 15 WA schools who voted on their favourite advertisement in the 2019 Critics’ Choice.

The most popular advertisement was “16 Cancers” produced by Cancer Council WA.

Congratulations to Kardinya Primary School that was drawn at random and won a $500 voucher.





’16 cancers’ by Cancer Council WA

For more tobacco education lesson plans aligned with the WA Curriculum Health and Physical Education Learning Area, visit Smarter than Smoking and the No Smokes website (targeted to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander youth).